Sunday, January 16, 2011

Wetumpka's Jamal Golden Named Alabama's Mr. Football

by Jeff Fisher
Alabama High School Football Huddle

Quarterback Jamal Golden of Wetumpka High School has picked-up another post-season honor.

Golden, who in late December was named the 2010 Alabama Gatorade Player of the Year, is now Alabama's Mr. Football.  Golden, who ran for 1,148 yards and passed for 2,351 yards, was chosen by the Alabama Sports Writers Association.

Golden, who has given his verbal commitment to Georgia Tech, is the tenth quarterback to win the award.

Spanish Fort center Reese Dismukes finished second in the Mr. Football voting.  Russellville's Brent Calloway finished third.

Seaholm HS Names New Football Coach

by Jeff Fisher
Alabama High School Football Huddle

Nick Deane is the new head football coach at Seaholm High School.

Deane takes over for Chris Fahr, who resigned after three straight losing seasons.  During the past two season, Deane served as Seaholm's co-offensive coordinator and offensive line coach.

Saturday, January 08, 2011

Kelly Resigns as Jackson High School Head Football Coach

by Jeff Fisher
Alabama High School Football Huddle

After three years on the job, Jeff Kelly is finished as the head coach of Jackson High.

The Press-Register is reporting that Kelly, who led the Aggies to the 2009 Class 4A title game, resigned earlier this week. The newspaper is also reporting that Kelly will become the new head coach at Saraland.

Thursday, January 06, 2011

Alabama's Mr. Football to be Chosen Next Week

by Jeff Fisher
Alabama High School Football Huddle

The 29th Mr. Football in Alabama will be chosen next Wednesday.

The winner will be chosen by the Alabama Sports Writers Association from the 2010 Back and Lineman of the Year winners that were announced at the end of last month.  Here's that group...

2010 Back of the Year
6A-Jamal Golden, Wetumpka
5A-Brent Calloway, Russellville
4A-Kyle Caldwell, Dadeville
3A-Jonathan Rose, Leeds
2A-Sammie Coates, Leroy
1A-Kendarius Fritts, Linden
AISA-Mark Lear, Clarke Prep

2010 Lineman of the Year
6A-Vinne Sunseri, Northridge
5A-Reese Dismukes, Spanish Fort
4A-Diaheem Watkins, Bibb Co.
3A-David Reeves, Greensboro
2A-Shaquille Roberson, Reeltown
1A-Ryan Chamblee, Collinsville
AISA-Buchanan Watson, Monroe Aca.